



Image reproduced by kind permission of the National Library of Australia



Sir William McGregor 1846-1911



# PRIZE GIVING RECEPTION S S SYRIA ESSAY COMPETITION Suva, Fiji Saturday 24 October 2009

To commemorate the I 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the sinking of the S S Syria, the Fiji Association in Auckland, supported by the New Zealand High Commission ran an essay competition for secondary school students to mark this important historical event.

The competition adjudicators were Lady June Hillary, QSM and Dr Satendra Singh, ONZM, QSM, JP.

## PROGRAM

Introduction

Address by His Excellency Mr Todd Clever

Address by Dr Satendra Singh

Presentation of Award Certificates and Prizes

Presentation of Trophies to Yat Sen Secondary School and Dayanand Anglo Vedic College

# LIST OF PRIZE WINNERS

#### CERTIFICATE OF DISTINCTION

(overall winners)

SEKAIA NIUMATAIWALU (Yat Sen Secondary School)
ASHWINI NEELIMA PRAKASH (Dayanand Anglo Vedic College)

# CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE

JASON WESLEY RAVAI TITIFANUE (Yat Sen Secondary School)

RADILAITE TURAGA (Indian College)

MONISH KUMAR (Dayanand Anglo Vedic College)

SHIVNEEL KUMAR (Nausori High School)

## CERTIFICATE OF MERIT

VENIANA SAUSAU (Swami Vivekananda College)
RAVINEET ROHIT DATT (Bhawani Dayal Arya College)
SANJIV KUMAR (Natabua High School)
SHANNON TERESA QUAI-HOI (St Joseph's Secondary School)
LITIANA WATI (Sila Central High School)
SONAM ARTIKA CHAND (Baulevu High School)
PREMIKA DARSHANI (Bhawani Dayal Arya College)
LAVENIA WASEIYAROI (Dudley High School)

NATHANIEL NAVNEEL CHAND (Indian College)

# CERTIFICATE OF COMMENDATION

RASHNEEL ASHUTOSH KUMAR (Rishikul Sanatan College) ASHNEEL ASHENDRA PRASAD (Dayanand Anglo Vedic College) SUDESHNA DHAR (Yat Sen Secondary School) SHERITA DEVI SHARMA (Mahatma Gandhi Memorial High School) KIRTI KOMAL (Dayanand Anglo Vedic College) JUDITH GIBLIN (Indian College) JOSEPH WORK (Sigatoka Methodist College) RONEEL RAHUL DEO (Tavua College) AVNEEL AMIT SINGH (Vunimono High School) MARGARET RADINABOU GILL (Nadı Muslim College) SWASTI SHUBHA NARAYAN (Bhawani Dayal Arya College) RAMIZA FAUZEEN ALI (Baulevu High School) SHERLEEN NAMRITA SHARMA (Rishikul Sanatan College) MONESH KUMAR (Swami Vivekananda College) RUCI DRANIBAKA (John Wesley College) ARIETA VAKASUKAWAQA (Dilkusha Methodist High School) BINDIYA DEVI GOUNDAR (Cuvu College) ARON AVINAY PRAKASH (Xavier College) SALANIETA KOTOYAWA TAGICAKIVERATA (Indian College) ASHNEEL SHARMA (Dayanand Anglo Vedic College)

